New Hampshire Insurance Prelicensing Requirements

NEW HAMPSHIRE INSURANCE PRELICENSING INFORMATION

  • New Hampshire does not require potential agents to take and complete a state approved prelicensing course before taking their licensing exam. This being said, it is highly recommended that potential agents take and complete a state-specific test preparation course before taking their licensing exam.

LICENSING EXAM INFORMATION

  • The exam is multiple choice and is given on a computer

EXAM FEE

  • The fee for single line exams is $79 and $100 for combined exams (L&H or P&C).

PASSING SCORE REQUIRED

  • 70%

EXAM BREAKDOWN

NEW HAMPSHIRE LIFE, ACCIDENT AND HEALTH

  • 150 (+ 40 law questions)

NEW HAMPSHIRE LIFE

  • 100 (+ 40 law questions)

NEW HAMPSHIRE ACCIDENT AND HEALTH

  • 100 (+ 40 law questions)

NEW HAMPSHIRE PROPERTY AND CASUALTY

  • 150 (+ 40 law questions)

EXAM LOCATIONS

Computerized exams are given at Prometric Testing Centers Monday- Saturday.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

HOW DO I APPLY FOR MY LICENSE?

For questions regarding how to obtain a license after the examination has been passed, candidates should contact the State of New Hampshire Insurance Department, License Division at (603) 271-0203 or visit them online at www.nh.gov/insurance. After passing the examination, candidates must apply for their license within two years.

IF I DON'T PASS IS THERE ANY WAITING PERIOD THAT APPLIES BEFORE I CAN RETAKE THE INSURANCE EXAM?

This computerized exam is scored immediately upon completion of the exam. If a candidate fails they must pay a reexamination fee and retake the exam. Candidates may take their exams as many times as needed.