Virginia Insurance Prelicensing Requirements

VIRGINIA INSURANCE PRELICENSING INFORMATION

  • Virginia does not require potential agents to take and complete a state approved prelicensing course before taking their licensing exam. This being said, it is highly recommended that potential agents take and complete a state-specific test preparation course before taking their licensing exam.

LICENSING EXAM INFORMATION

  • The exam is multiple choice and is given on a computer

EXAM FEE

  • $51 per examination

PASSING SCORE REQUIRED

  • Pass or Fail

EXAM BREAKDOWN

Virginia Life, Annuities and Health

  • 140 (+ 15 pretest) questions

Virginia Life and Annuities

  • 90 (+ 15 pretest) questions

Virginia Health

  • 90 (+ 15 pretest) questions

Virginia Property and Casualty

  • 135 (+ 10 pretest) questions

Virginia Personal Lines

  • 107 (+ 11 pretest) questions

Virginia Public Adjusters

  • 50 questions

EXAM LOCATIONS

Computerized exams are given at Pearson VUE Testing Centers Monday-Saturday and select locations on Sunday.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

HOW DO I APPLY FOR MY LICENSE?

For questions regarding how to obtain a license after the examination has been passed, candidates should contact the Virginia Bureau of Insurance at (804) 371-9631 or visit them online at www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/. After passing the examination, candidates must apply for their license within six months. After six months, the Bureau will require the candidate to take and pass their licensing exams again.

IF I DON'T PASS IS THERE ANY WAITING PERIOD THAT APPLIES BEFORE I CAN RETAKE THE INSURANCE EXAM?

This computerized exam is scored immediately upon completion of parts I and II of the exam. Although the examination consists of two parts, candidates receive a single score. Failing candidates will be required to pay a reexamination fee and retake the entire examination. Candidates must wait 24 hours before making a reservation for reexamination. After the third time of failing the exam, Virginia law requires a 30-day waiting period before retaking the exam. Candidates must pass the failed portion of the exam within 183 days from the date of examination.