New Jersey Insurance Prelicensing Requirements

Register for your New Jersey insurance prelicensing exam prep here:

Register Now

Updated March 7, 2024

ExamFX Provider # 30151



New Jersey requires producer licensing candidates to take and complete a state-approved prelicensing course. You will also need to apply to your license with the state insurance department and register for the state licensing exam. Make sure to register for all 3 (prelicensing course, license application, state exam) using the personally identifiable information exactly as it appears on your government-issued ID. Discrepancies will delay the licensing process.

Life20 hours
Accident & Health20 hours
Property20 hours
Casualty20 hours
Personal Lines20 hours


New Jersey requires 20 hours of prelicensing education for each line of authority.

To earn your certificate of completion:

  • Read every chapter and take the end-of-chapter quiz.
  • Score 70% or better on each chapter quiz before progressing to the next chapter.
  • Complete and pass the Certificate Exam (may also be called Practice Exam: Exam Mode in your course) with a minimum score of 70%.

Your exam will be based on the New Jersey exam outline, which can be found in PSI's Candidate Bulletin.


ExamFX is so confident in the quality of its material that we offer our customers a first-time pass guarantee. If you don’t pass the first time around, we will refund your money. To qualify for this offer, you must pass our Readiness Exam with a score of 80% to determine maximum exam readiness. While completing this portion of your online course is not required, we highly recommend taking this extra step.


Step 1: Complete a prelicensing course that has been approved by the Department of Insurance. Once you have completed your course, ExamFX will issue a certificate of completion which you may download and print from your online ExamFX account.

Step 2: Schedule your exam with your state’s testing provider, PSI. Registration can be completed most efficiently by signing up online at PSI or you may also call (800) 733-9267. Your exam may be taken at a physical PSI examination center or via a remote online proctored exam. Exam fees must be paid at the time of reservation.

To cancel your exam, you must contact PSI Exams at least two (2) days in advance or forfeit your registration fee.

Step 3: Take and pass your state licensing exam. On the day of your appointment, you must bring with you two valid forms of government issued identification (driver’s license, passport, military I.D., etc.) one of which must contain your name and photograph. You must also bring with you your certificate of completion. You will not be able to take your exam if these requirements are not met.

Once you have completed your examination you will be made aware of your results. If you pass, you will immediately receive a successful notification and a score report. If you fail, you will receive a diagnostic report indicating your strengths or weaknesses by examination type with the score report.

Your score will automatically be reported to NIPR and the Department of Insurance.

Step 4: New Jersey law requires all individual applicants for an insurance license to submit fingerprints and written consent for a criminal history check. The Department recommends scheduling your fingerprinting scan immediately after passing the licensing exam.

Schedule your appointment online with IdentoGo or by phone at (877) 503-5981. There will be a fee for this service. New Jersey uses the Producer service code 2F16Y3.

Upon your appointment, you must present the appropriate identification. More information on acceptable forms of ID can be found here.

Step 5: Apply for your license. New Jersey resident applicants must use the online application service at NIPR. Additional licensing application guidance may be accessed on the NIPR website.

Step 6: Maintain your license by being aware of your continuing education requirements. Most insurance licenses must be maintained by completing a certain number of credit hours of continuing education each licensing period. ExamFX offers continuing education courses that will help you comply with your state’s requirements. Click here to view your state’s education rules and stay on top of your license.


Your exam experience is dependent on the line of authority you are testing for, but all licensing exams will be multiple choice and take place on a computer. Review the exam summaries below. The exam content outlines can be found on the testing provider's website.

The breakdown of testing topics can be found here.

  1. The number of questions on your exam
  2. The time limit
  3. The score that you must achieve to pass the exam


New Jersey Life Insurance Examination

83 Total Questions
Time limit: 3.5 Hours
Passing score: 70%

Train for your test with our New Jersey Life exam prep course.

New Jersey Accident and Health Examination

88 Total Questions
Time limit: 3.5 Hours
Passing score: 70%

Train for your test with our New Jersey Health exam prep course.

New Jersey Property Producer Examination

79 Total Questions
Time limit: 3.5 Hours
Passing Score: 70%

Train for your test with our New Jersey Property exam prep course.

New Jersey Casualty Insurance Examination

91 Total Questions
Time limit: 3.5 Hours
Passing Score: 70%

Train for your test with our New Jersey Casualty exam prep course.

New Jersey Personal Lines Examination

112 Total Questions
Time limit: 3.5 Hours
Passing Score: 70%

Train for your test with our New Jersey Personal Lines exam prep course.


ExamFX recommends that you contact your Department of Insurance or testing center directly.

For licensing questions:
License Processing
(609) 292-7272
[email protected]

For licensing exams:
PSI Services LLC
3210 E Tropicana
Las Vegas, NV 89121
(800) 733-9267 – Fax (702) 932-2666

The information displayed above is for informational purposes only. ExamFX is not responsible for the accuracy of the information on this page. All steps have been taken to make sure that the information relayed on this page is accurate; however, information is subject to change without notice. It is the responsibility of the producer to be compliant per their states requirements.

Register for your New Jersey insurance prelicensing exam prep here:

Register Now