Kansas Course Content Update January 2022
> Kansas Life and Health, Property, Casualty, and Personal Lines Addendum
Life and Health
Addendum: for use with Kansas Life and Health, Property and Casualty, and Personal Lines online ExamFX courses and study guides per regulatory updates effective 01/01/2022.
The following are content additions or revisions as indicated:
Kansas Rules and Regulations Common to All Lines
2. Producer Appointments and Certification and Termination of Appointment – revisions to the existing text:
An insurer must submit a notice of appointment or termination of appointment electronically through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) within 30 business days of appointment. Companies are responsible for paying the transaction fee charged by NIPR for appointments. All appointments must be renewed annually on January 1.
3. Obtaining a License
Qualifications and Examinations – revisions to the existing text:
To apply for a Kansas resident insurance producer license, an applicant must satisfy or meet the following requirements:
- Be 18 years of age or older;
- Submit the NAIC Uniform Application for Individual Insurance Producer License (Applications submitted on a paper form will NOT be accepted. Applications will be submitted through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) at nipr.com.);
- Pay an application fee of $30 and a fingerprint fee of $60 by credit card or electronic check;
- Be fingerprinted and submit to a criminal history background check;
- Electronically submit a Waiver agreement and FBI Privacy Act Statement to the Department;
- For variable contract applicants, provide evidence of FINRA registration;
- Receive tax clearance from the Kansas Department of Revenue and submit it to the Department of Insurance with the license application;
- If the applicant is the holder of a license from another state and is moving to Kansas, submit a clearance letter from the Commissioner of the state that issued the license; and
- Pass the appropriate license examination. (If the applicant has held an insurance license in another state, the examination may be waived by the Kansas Insurance Department.)
Applicants must comply with all licensing requirements within 1 year of application. Applications and fingerprints are valid for one year.
4. Maintaining a License
Continuing Education – revisions to the existing text:
Producers whose biennial renewal dates are after January 1, 2022, and who are licensed to sell single or dual lines (Life and/or Health, Property and/or Casualty, and Personal Lines) must complete 18 hours of CE. Of those credits, 3 hours must pertain to ethics. In addition to the required credit hours, producers must submit a renewal application, pay a $4 renewal fee, and pay a $100 reinstatement fee if the license is suspended or expired.
CE requirement must be completed by the last day of the agent's birth month.
If the Commissioner does not receive certification of successful course completion by the producer's deadline, the license will be suspended for 90 days or until the continuing education requirement has been completed. In addition, the agent will be fined $100 for each license suspended. If the continuing education requirement is not met at the end of 90 days, the license will expire. To renew the license within 1 year of expiration, the agent must do the following:
- Submit renewal application and pay the $4 renewal fee;
- Complete 18 hours of continuing education;
- Pay the $100 reinstatement feel; and
- Become reappointed by the companies the agent represents.
If it has been more than 1 year, but less than 4 years, the license may be reinstated by reapplying for a license, completing the outstanding continuing education requirements, and paying the application fee of $90 and reinstatement fee of $100. The agents must also be reappointed by an insurer.
After 4 years, the agents will be required to apply for a new license and pass the licensing examination.